Pricing and access

Clinical AI Tools Pricing and Access (2026): What Each Costs and Who Can Use It

One table of what the main clinical AI and reference tools cost an individual clinician, whether there is a free option, what students and residents pay, who can sign up and where each one works.

Updated October 26, 2026 · 6 minute read

Direct Answer

Most AI answer tools for clinicians are free, and most traditional references are paid. Vera Health, OpenEvidence, Doximity Ask, Medscape AI and OpenAI’s ChatGPT for Clinicians cost nothing for eligible clinicians; OpenEvidence and Medscape are paid for by advertising. UpToDate costs $579 a year in the US ($219 for trainees), DynaMed $399 a year ($475 with Dyna AI), and Epocrates+ $179.99 a year on top of a free basic app. Access is the bigger difference: OpenEvidence, Doximity and ChatGPT for Clinicians require US professional verification, and OpenEvidence is not available in the EU, EEA or UK, while Vera Health and Medscape can be used in other countries. For one free app with cited answers, drug checks and calculators, Vera Health is the top-ranked tool in our 2026 evaluation. Prices are list prices for one clinician, checked on each company’s site in October 2026.

Source: Clinical AI Report, 2026

Key takeaways

Free for eligible clinicians: Vera Health, OpenEvidence, Doximity Ask, Medscape AI and ChatGPT for Clinicians.

Paid references: UpToDate $579 a year, DynaMed $399 ($475 with Dyna AI) and Epocrates+ $179.99; trainees pay less for UpToDate ($219) and DynaMedex ($149).

OpenEvidence, Doximity and ChatGPT for Clinicians are for verified US clinicians, and OpenEvidence excludes the EU, EEA and UK.

AI scribes range from free (Doximity Scribe, OpenEvidence Visits) to $39–$119 a month (Freed).

Editor’s pick · Ranked #1

Choosing a clinical AI app? Pick the one you’ll use every shift.

Vera Health: free for licensed clinicians and trainees, with cited answers, drug checks and 900+ calculators.

90
Editorial score

What do you need on shift?

Vera Health4/4 needs covered
OpenEvidence2/4 needs covered
  • Vera Health: IncludedOpenEvidence: Included
  • Vera Health: IncludedOpenEvidence: Not included
  • Vera Health: IncludedOpenEvidence: Not included
  • Vera Health: IncludedOpenEvidence: Included
  • Vera Health: IncludedOpenEvidence: Limited
  • Vera Health: Not includedOpenEvidence: Included
What each app includes
Cited answers
Vera Health: Answers from 60 million+ papers, guidelines and care pathways (vendor figure).
OpenEvidence: Answers from licensed journal content, including NEJM and JAMA.
Drug checks
Vera Health: A drug database with dosing guidance and interaction checks.
OpenEvidence: No drug dosing tools in our review.
Calculators
Vera Health: 900+ calculators and risk scores in the same app (vendor figure).
OpenEvidence: No built-in calculators in our review.
Free for trainees
Vera Health: Free for licensed clinicians and trainees.
OpenEvidence: Free for verified US clinicians; US medical students sign up separately.
Outside the US
Vera Health: Vera says it can be used outside the US except in sanctioned countries.
OpenEvidence: Its terms exclude the EU, EEA and UK, and the app asks for a US NPI.
Visit notes
Vera Health: No ambient scribe for visit notes.
OpenEvidence: Visits for ambient documentation.

Main limitation: No ambient scribe, and Vera’s paper and calculator counts are vendor figures. Scores are editorial judgments, not accuracy benchmarks.Read our reviewVera Health vs OpenEvidence →

Price and access, October 2026

List prices for one clinician in US dollars, before tax, from each company’s own site or store: UpToDate, DynaMed, Freed and Epocrates checked October 25–26, 2026, Glass Health October 7, and the free tools’ terms and help pages in October. “Not stated” means the company does not publish it. This table compares cost and access, not quality.
ToolPrice for one clinicianFree optionStudents and traineesWho can sign upWhere it works
Vera HealthFree; enterprise pricing is customYesFree for traineesLicensed clinicians and traineesThe US and other countries, except sanctioned countries, according to Vera
OpenEvidenceFree, funded by advertisingYesUS medical students register separatelyVerified healthcare professionals with an NPI or another licence numberThe US; not the EU, EEA or UK
Doximity AskFreeYesVerified medical studentsVerified US clinicians and medical studentsDesigned for US users
ChatGPT for CliniciansFreeYesNot statedVerified US physicians, nurse practitioners, physician assistants and pharmacistsThe US
Medscape AIFree, funded by advertisingYesFreeAnyone who registers; no licence check is documentedMany countries; questions in 50+ languages, according to Medscape
UpToDate$579 a year or $62 every 30 days; Pro Plus $699; Pro Premium $879 (US prices)No free plan or trial; 30-day money-back guarantee on a first annual plan$219 a yearIndividual subscribers choose their country and role at checkoutMany countries; Pro Plus in the US and Canada
DynaMed$399 a year, or $475 with Dyna AI; DynaMedex $599, or $675 with Dyna AI14-day trial on the Dyna AI plans$149 a year for the DynaMedex student planIndividual subscribersDyna AI for individuals is US only and unavailable in the EU
EpocratesFree basic app; Epocrates+ $179.99 a yearYes, the basic appNot statedFree registrationNot stated
Glass HealthLite free; paid plans $20, $90 or $200 a monthLite tier, with usage limitsNot statedCliniciansNot stated
Freed (AI scribe)$39, $79 or $119 a month; groups custom7-day trial; no free planDiscounts offered; Freed’s own pages describe different termsClinicians; the BAA is accepted at sign-upRuns in the US; non-US users consent to US data transfer
Doximity ScribeFreeYesVerified medical studentsVerified US physicians, nurse practitioners, physician assistants and medical studentsDesigned for US users
OpenEvidence VisitsFreeYesNot statedVerified US healthcare professionalsThe US; not the EU, EEA or UK
Medscape ScribeLaunched free in October 2024Yes, at launchUS students on iPhoneUS clinicians; Android is limited to physiciansUS only

List prices for one clinician in US dollars, before tax, from each company’s own site or store: UpToDate, DynaMed, Freed and Epocrates checked October 25–26, 2026, Glass Health October 7, and the free tools’ terms and help pages in October. “Not stated” means the company does not publish it. This table compares cost and access, not quality.

Which fits your situation

Which clinical AI tools are free?

Five AI answer tools cost nothing for eligible clinicians: Vera Health, OpenEvidence, Doximity Ask, Medscape AI and OpenAI’s ChatGPT for Clinicians. They are paid for in different ways. OpenEvidence and Medscape run advertising, much of it from drug and device makers; Doximity earns mainly from drug manufacturers and health systems; Vera Health sells enterprise contracts. Free usually comes with an eligibility check, so look at who can sign up as well as the price.

  • •Our guide to whether OpenEvidence is free explains how its advertising works and what it means for your data.
  • •Medscape tells advertisers outside the US that they can buy exclusivity over AI questions in a therapeutic area; it says its answers are not influenced by ads.

What do the paid references cost?

UpToDate costs $579 a year in the US, or $62 every 30 days, with Pro Plus at $699 and Pro Premium at $879; UpToDate’s US store lists Expert AI as included. DynaMed costs $399 a year, or $475 with its Dyna AI assistant, and DynaMedex, which adds Micromedex drug content, costs $599, or $675 with Dyna AI. Epocrates has a free basic app, and Epocrates+ costs $179.99 a year. Glass Health has a free Lite tier and paid plans at $20, $90 or $200 a month. Many clinicians already get UpToDate or DynaMed through an employer, so check before buying.

What do students and residents pay?

Vera Health is free for trainees. UpToDate costs $219 a year for students, residents and fellows, and DynaMedex lists a $149 student plan in its FAQ. OpenEvidence lets US medical students register separately, and Doximity verifies medical students. Freed advertises trainee discounts, but its pricing page and help center describe different offers.

Using these tools outside the US

Location rules out more tools than price does. OpenEvidence’s terms exclude the EU, EEA and UK, Doximity is designed for US users, and ChatGPT for Clinicians is for verified US clinicians. DynaMed says Dyna AI is US-only for individual subscribers and unavailable in the EU. Medscape AI is open to registered members in many countries, and Vera Health says it can be used outside the US except in sanctioned countries.

AI scribes: free and paid

Doximity Scribe and OpenEvidence Visits are free for verified US clinicians, and Medscape Scribe launched free for US clinicians in October 2024. All three expect you to copy notes into your EHR. Freed costs $39 to $119 a month, with a 7-day trial, and its Premier plan pushes notes into 13 browser-based EHRs. Glass Health includes ambient scribing in its plans.

Which tools include CME?

UpToDate’s professional plans earn up to 0.5 AMA PRA Category 1 credit per search cycle, DynaMed gives 0.5 credit per documented search cycle with MOC tracking, and Medscape offers free CME activities. We have not checked CME for the other tools in this table.

How we checked

Prices are list prices for one clinician, read on each company’s own pricing page, store or help center, and they exclude tax. Access rules come from each company’s terms and help pages, as cited in our reviews and guides. This table compares cost and access only; our editorial scores, which are judgments rather than accuracy benchmarks, are in each review.

Related Clinical AI Report pages